Newbie needing advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie needing advice

Newbie here, so I apologize in advance... Iíve been wanting to join the club but I see I missed the Novice School and Practice. What should I do now? Wait til next year? I donít see another one on the schedule. Thanks for your help.

Let people know it's your first event. We'll do our best to make sure everything goes smoothly for you.

I put a version of our "welcome to the novice event" email on our website. This gives some idea what to expect and how to prepare. If you have particular questions, post 'em here and we'll help you out!

https://www.mnautox.com/getting-started
    Jeff Rye #64
    1999 Mazda Miata Sport -- ES
    2001 Toyota Corolla S -- HS
    Proud recipient of the 2016 Paul Weidner Spirit of the Sport award.

Comment

Definitely come out! The novice schools are great, but are in no way required to start attending events. We have a very helpful bunch of people in the club. I will be the event master for M4 (this coming saturday) so definitely come find me if you have questions. Feel free to shoot me a msg on here as well in advance with any questions
      2001 S2000

Originally posted by 86SVO
      ..... then I found a broken chuck of plastic bumper cover to use as "paper".
      No one really listens to anyone else, and if you try it for a while you'll see why. - Mignon McLaughlin

Comment

Can confirm, from another newbie. I missed the first Novice school last year, but came out to a competitive event and laid down some abysmal times. I'm glad I did.

Everyone in the club is friendly, helpful, and eager to spread the gospel of Autocross. Some folks may prefer not to chat too much if their runtime is approaching and they are focusing, but other than that come out, ask tons of questions, and you will be sure to have a blast.